Mayor & City Council

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Gloria Soto, Councilmember

Gloria Soto

Maribel Aguilera-Hernandez, Councilmember   Maribel Aguilera-Hernandez

Alice Patino, Mayor 
Alice Patino

Carlos Escobedo, Councilmember  

 Carlos Escobedo


Mike Cordero, Councilmember

Mike Cordero


 District 3 District 4  At-Large 

District 1

District 2 

 Send an e-mail to the City Council. Note: all correspondence to the City Council is considered public record.

Santa Maria City Council Election Districts Map
Interactive map of City Council Election Districts


 Portal Icon subscribe-version3

City Government is the true local government; it is closest to the people and voters. The government style in Santa Maria is organized to make this closeness most effective and efficient in rendering services to its people. The City of Santa Maria is a municipal corporation governed by an elected Council of five members. (Click photos for their webpages.)

The Council-Manager form of municipal government is used, with the policy being set by the elected body and carried out by an appointed City Manager. Policy setting is not an automatic process; it requires recognition of need, study of all essential facts, free exchange of ideas, and decision.

Councilmembers carry voter viewpoints from the idea phase to introduction, discussion, decision and action. The City Manager acts as legs and library for the Council, gathering facts, reporting and recommending. After the facts have been assembled, the Council makes a decision based upon their knowledge of the community and its people.

The Santa Maria City Government style will continue to be good, representative government and meet the challenges and problems of our day so long as there is strong interest and active participation on the part of the voting public.

The City Council is comprised of five members, one (1) Mayor and four (4) Councilmembers. The Mayor and the four members of the City Council are elected for 4-year terms by the electorate. The Mayor presides at Council meetings and serves as the executive and ceremonial host of our city government.

The City Council also serves as the governing board of the Parking Authority, and the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board.

 Mayors (by terms)
Members of the City Council (Past & Present)

The City Council Members are elected officers identified in Government Code Section 87200 and file statements of economic interests with the City Clerk's office. Copies of the Statements of Economic Interests filed by City Council Members may be obtained by visiting the offices of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) or the City Clerk. The physical address of the FPPC is 428 J Street, Suite 620, Sacramento, California 95814. The physical address of the City Clerk's office is 110 E. Cook Street, Santa Maria, CA 93454. The Statements of Economic Interests (Form 700) for some State and local government agency elected officers may be available in electronic format on the FPPC's website at

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer